Featured Speakers

PARKER McMULLEN BUSHMAN

Tuesday, 8/24
6:30-6:55am AKT / 7:30-7:55am PT / 8:30-8:55am MT / 9:30-9:55am CT / 10:30-10:55am ET

Welcoming Allweb IMG 20180712 090848032 HDR 2

We all want to create organizations that are all welcoming and open to all visitors and staff. Parker will explore how microaggressions affect individuals across different identities and how microaggressions can make someone feel unwelcome in a space. Using examples from her own life, Parker will share the importance of addressing microaggressions and the power of champions and allies in your life.

Parker McMullen Bushman is a dynamic speaker who engages audiences in new thinking around what it means to be a diversity change agent, an inclusive leader and building capacity for transformational change. Her background in the environmental education, conservation, outdoor recreation, and interpretive fields spans over 23 years. Parker’s interest in diversity, equity and inclusion issues developed from her personal experiences facing the unequal representation of people of color in nonprofit and environmental organizations. Parker tackles these complex issues through head on activism and education. In Colorado she works with organizations to aid them in building culturally competent organizations that are representative of their communities.

 

BRENDAN CIECKO

Wednesday, 8/25
10:30-11am AKT / 11:30am-12pm PT / 12:30-1pm MT / 1:30-2pm CT / 2:30-3pm ET

BrendanCiecko headshot 2Exploring the Impact of Virtual Programs on Revenue Generation at Cultural Organizations

Since the escalation of the COVID-19 pandemic, digital programming has taken on new importance and prominence across museums and cultural institutions. In response to temporary closures and a decline in onsite visitors, the cultural sector has experimented with a variety of virtual events and programming, including virtual tours, summer camps, art classes, galas, and more. Many organizations have also begun to monetize these digital programs, through fixed-fees, suggested donations, or including them as membership benefits. With the rise of digital programs, there are many new questions: how many organizations are monetizing digital programs? What types of virtual initiatives are bringing in the most revenue? What is the return on investment for digital programs? And, do organizations plan to continue these programs after COVID-19 is under control? 

In response to these new and urgent questions, the Cuseum team launched the first-ever comprehensive study of revenue generation through virtual programs in the cultural sector. With over 500 survey participants across art museums, history museums, science centers, children’s museums, gardens, zoos, and aquariums, this study examines six types of virtual programming, various pricing models, and the impact of such initiatives on revenue generation at different types and sizes of cultural organizations. 

This session will be an opportunity to explore the results of this study, for the benefit of the entire cultural sector. 

Brendan Ciecko is the founder and CEO of Cuseum, a platform that helps museums and cultural organizations engage their visitors, members, and patrons. Ciecko has been building technology since the age of 11 and has been recognized by Inc. Magazine as being one of America’s top entrepreneurs under 30. Ciecko has been featured in The New York Times, WIRED, Fast Company, Entrepreneur, TechCrunch, VentureBeat, Esquire, and PC Magazine for his work in design, technology, and business. In 2020, Ciecko was named “New Innovator” by Artnet and included on Blooloop’s top 50 “Museum Influencer” list. He holds 6 patents in the area of mobile technology.

 

MARGO FARNSWORTH

Thursday, 8/26
6:40-7am AKT / 7:40-8am PT / 8:40-9am MT / 9:40-10am CT / 10:40-11am ET

web IMG 3716Biomimicry & Resilience – Moving Forward After a Pandemic

The pandemic arrived silently and quickly upended our entire world. What can nature center directors, governing bodies, staff and clients learn about resilience from nature as we move forward into an inter-pandemic world? 

Biomimicry is the practice of connecting with nature and creating solutions by emulating the strategies we find in our fellow organisms. These strategies operate to optimize instead of maximizing, are energy and material efficient, integrate development with growth – and offer us new opportunities to work in concert with nature as we reopen. Join Margo Farnsworth in a two-part session as she introduces the concept and practice of biomimicry and its application in businesses and organizations. Then explore solution pathways with her and your peers for reopening centers and programming based around how nature would recover after disruption.

Margo Farnsworth works as a writer, biomimicry educator and consultant in strategic development for organizations. She has served as faculty, visiting faculty and advises students internationally as a Fellow for the Biomimicry Institute as well as serving as a judge and mentor for the Biomimicry Institute’s Global Design Challenge. Margo has worked as a naturalist, nonprofit Executive Director and Senior Fellow for a Southeastern watershed organization. She currently serves on the board of Deep Roots and advises the Missouri Prairie Foundation’s Grow Native program and South Carolina’s Experience Green. Her writing can be seen in the anthology Wildness: Relations of People and Place in addition to Earthlines, Zygote Quarterly, The New Territory and elsewhere. Her book, Biomimicry and Business: How Companies Are Using Nature’s Strategies to Succeed tells the stories of business leaders using biomimicry and its effects on their companies.

 

LEARN MORE ABOUT THE SUMMIT

 

So energizing! Loved every minute of the conference!

— 2020 Summit participant

More in this category: « Schedule Workshops »