The Decline of Outdoor Play in Children – And the Rise of Sensory Issues

Description

Time:  7:30am PT  /  8:30am MT  /  9:30am CT  /  10:30am ET
Host Organization:  Shaver's Creek Environmental Center — Petersburg, PA
Price:  Free

As we continue to decrease children’s time and space to move and play outdoors, especially during the cold winter months, we are seeing a simultaneous rise in the number of children that are presenting with sensory and motor deficits. At the same time, classroom teachers are observing more and more children having trouble with attention, falling out of their seats in school, increased clumsiness, and even aggressiveness with games like tag on the playground. So, how can we reverse this alarming trend of sensory and motor issues in children? How can we ensure that children are fully engaging their body, mind, and all of their senses? Using the same philosophy that lies at the heart of her popular TimberNook program — that nature is the ultimate sensory experience, and that psychological and physical health improves for children when they spend time outside on a regular basis — Angela Hanscom offers several strategies to help children thrive in outdoor environments in all weather conditions using a therapeutic approach to nature play. Learn more here.