Green to Gold: Trees of the Cascades in Watercolor

Description

Time:  10am PT  /  11am MT  /  12pm CT  /  1pm ET
Host Organization:  
North Cascades Institute — Sedro Woolley, WA
Price: 
$50

Molly Hashimoto returns to the Institute's virtual classroom with a new class on painting the iconic trees of the North Cascades! Register, get your watercolors, brushes and papers ready, and join Molly on your computer as she familiarizes us with how to portray the bark, foliage, shape and stature of some of our favorite leafy (and needly) friends. Things will kick off with sketches of alders and big-leaf maples to warm our skills up. We will then work on painting larger landscapes: mountain hemlocks on the slopes Mt. Baker, forested ridges leading the eye to Mt. Logan in the distance. Molly has been honing her virtual instruction methods and is excited to be able to offer this course to you from the comfort of her home studio straight to your own. If you're not currently working on paintings but would like to absorb technical knowledge from this talented painter, feel free to sign up, tune in, and soak up the skills. This is an excellent opportunity to stay connected with one of our most beloved teachers while supporting North Cascades Institute through these challenging times. Molly will also offer email-based follow up if students want feedback and help with their work going forward. Learn more here.