The History of Rock: Geologic Knowledge in the North Cascades

Date
Thursday, Apr 08 2021

Description

Time:  5:30pm PT  /  6:30pm MT  /  7:30pm CT  /  8:30pm ET
Host Organization:  
North Cascades Institute — Sedro Woolley, WA
Price: 
$15

What makes the mountains of the North Cascades so distinct? Why do these mountains rise so abruptly amidst the surrounding landscape? Why are river canyons cut so deeply, and the spires so jagged and sharp? Learn about the complex geologic history of the North Cascades through the stories of people who came to read the rocks. Since the 1950s, geologists have sought to explain why the North Cascades host so many distinct types of rocks with such varied and complex metamorphic history. Learn about the people who seek to explain what forces shape the landscape of the past and continue to shape the landscape into the future. Join Gina Roberti for the story of the geologic history of the North Cascades and how it has been interpreted over time. Learn more here.