CONNECTS: Best Practices for Keeping Your Center Safe

Date
Feb 25 2021

Description

Time: 10am PT  /  11am MT  /  12pm CT  /  1pm ET

Risk assessment: these are two words we might want to ignore but shouldn’t. Risk assessment is a strong tool to find hidden hazards at your center and help you implement best practices.

As nature center leaders our jobs include maintaining safe facilities and programming, yet we are also charged with balancing that with the inherent risks associated with the outdoors. How do we maintain safe facilities? What are some of the tools and resources available to us to mitigate risk? Leadership staff from the Irvine Nature Center in MD will share their experience undergoing a recent risk management assessment including who was involved, what is required, and what they learned. We also hope participants will share their own experiences and suggest resources.

ANCA Board Member and Irvine Nature Center Executive Director Brooks Paternotte and Courtney Sagal, Deputy Director of Irvine Nature Center, will lead this discussion.

ANCA Member CONNECTS are a benefit of ANCA Membership. Register here.